kiriyass:

soudelicious:

HEY, NEWSFLASH, TUMBLR RP COMMUNITY: YOUR CLIQUE OF RPERS IS HURTING EVERYONE ELSE WHO AREN’T AS LUCKY AS YOU.

OPEN YOUR FUCKING EARS AND LISTEN TO THIS SHIT.

NEWCOMERS SUFFER BECAUSE OF YOU, JUST BECAUSE YOU IGNORE EVERYONE NEW WHO TRIES TO INTERACT.

THAT’S RIGHT, A REALITY CHECK FROM YOUR FRIENDLY NEIGHBORHOOD SHARKMUN! 

SO OPEN YOUR CLOSED MINDS AND HEARTS TO NEW PEOPLE, IT WON’T FUCKING KILL YOU. 

Everyone deserves a chance to roleplay, so why not be kind and actually a decent human being? Why, is it too hard to make new friends? So you shun and ignore everyone else who isn’t in your inner circles? Is that it? This happens in every rp community I’m in, and frankly I’m sick of it. Good friends of mine and I are turned away and ignored by people like you guys.

For those who are the victims, listen up: IT’S OKAY TO BE ANGRY ABOUT BEING NEGLECTED. People deserve so much better here. Not just the higher ups.

 I’d so do a purge on the “upper level” tumblr rpers if I could. Bring them down off the high horse and down a couple notches. 

EARTH TO TUMBLR: There are other people here!

No, I actually think someone needs to bring you off your high horse. 

Because you seem to think you’re entitled to something NO ONE in ANY roleplay community is entitled to–and that is the ability to force people to be your writing partners. Here is an actual “reality check:” Life isn’t fair. 

You don’t always get what you want, certainly not if you’re going to act like anyone (let alone COMPLETE STRANGERS) owe you anything. 

What you’re doing here is guilt tripping, and I REFUSE to EVER write or interact with someone who makes me feel like I’m obligated to bend to their will, and that I’m a horrible person if I don’t. 

If I don’t want to “give someone a chance,” then sorry. I have my own reasons.

I come here for one reason and one reason only: MY enjoyment. 

I can’t enjoy something if I’m not comfortable with it. I can’t enjoy something if someone is telling me how horrible I am for not writing with them, despite my own feelings–I might have had a bad day. I might be suffering a depressive episode. I might just be too preoccupied. 

Despite what you think you know, you will never fully understand who a person feels until you see it from their perspective.

There are actual people behind these accounts, with actual feelings–y’know, just like me & you. 

  • Some of us have social anxiety, and only feel comfortable with talking to certain people. 
  • Some of us have severe mood disorders, that leave us drained and unmotivated to expand our “little circle,” because it just means another writing partner we don’t have the energy for.
  • Some of us have stressful schedules like high school, college, or jobs.

Yet all of us choose to devote our time and energy into these accounts, because it brings us some sort of comfort–and each person’s comfort level is personal; 

  • Some of us are selective.
  • Some of us are not.
  • Some of us only write in one-liners.
  • Some of us do not.

All of us have the freedom to pick and choose who we want to interact with, because this is a hobby, not a job. No one is required to do anything. 

I’m sorry that one “quality” roleplayer you’ve be eyeing turned you down.

I’m sorry that one person you might have admired wasn’t interested in either the character you’re playing or your writing style/format.

I’m sorry that you came in contact with a snobby, overly-vain roleplayer and then decided to generalize any roleplayer who is even moderately selective as villainous people who take joy in making people feel “left out.”

I’m sorry, but that’s not our problem. 

Our problem is maintaining our own comfort & mental health doing something we love with people with love despite people feeling entitled to our own time and energy, that is just as valuable as yours.

You wouldn’t want someone to force you to do something, so don’t force others. 

Everyone deserves respect, kindness and understanding–so respect and understand a person’s decision to not want to associate with you and move on. 

Leave a Reply

